Share me

Professor Abdel Shafy Obada

He attended the new Assiut University which began teaching in session 1957-58
He graduated in 1962 was a B.Sc. having been awarded Honours in Mathematics. For the next two years he worked at Assiut University as a Demonstrator in the Faculty of Science before being awarded a scholarship to study for a Ph.D. in England. For his doctoral research, Obada attended the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology (UMIST) beginning his studies in 1964. His thesis advisor at UMIST was Robin K Bullough. In 1969 Obada returned to Egypt where he was appointed as a Lecturer in Mathematics in the Faculty of Science of Al-Azhar University in Cairo.
In 1982 Obada became an Associate of the International Centre for Theoretical Physics and continued in this role until 1995, making research visits to the Centre in ten of these fourteen years.
He was promoted to Senior Lecturer in Mathematics at Al-Azhar University in 1974 but left one year later to take up the position of Associate Professor in the Department of Mathematics at King Abdulaziz University in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.
Obada played a large role in the founding of the Egyptian Mathematical Society in 1992. He was elected as the first President of the Egyptian Mathematical Society and has continued in that role.
Among the many awards and prizes given to Obada, we mention his election as a fellow of the Egyptian Academy of Sciences (1995), as a fellow of the British Institute of Physics (2000), as a fellow of the African Academy of Sciences (2001), and as an elected member of the Academy of Arabic Language (2013). He was Vice-President of the African Academy of Sciences from 2004 to 2013. He received the Egyptian State Prize for Scientific Creativity in Basic Sciences (2004), the State Recognition Prize in Basic Sciences (2005), the Elsevier prize for scientific publications and citations (2008), the Misr El-Kheir Prize for highly cited papers (2011), the Nile Award in Science from the Academy of Scientific Research & Technology (2012), the State Sciences and Arts Medal of the First Order (2014) and the African Union’s Kwame Nkrumah Laureate of Basic Science, Technology and Innovation Award (2019).




Web of Science Researcher ID: